Voice of a routine!

It’s 6am. My alarm rings, Mom has called twice and it’s time to get ready for the day’s noise.

I freshen up and gulp my milk to gear up for my day. Dad chases my cab in our honda activa like a superman and we manage to stop the cab that would have missed me otherwise. I get in to nap again while my cab crawls like a snake in the Bangalore traffic.

I reach office in a sleepy face. First things first. I splash some water with a pace and give my eyes a liner and tie up my hair.

I keep my bag and walk to the big window to watch the endless sky and the buildings in construction.

Hi! Hello! Morning! some wishes exchange with near and dear cubicle ones

I already hear some mouse clicks while I walk to the elevator which takes me down to the canteen where I stand in long queue to grab my pongal upma poha dose vade chutney and sambar. Sometimes a sandwich wins.

I look up for emails and get to my work with focus. Someone interrupts or a phone rings and grabs my attention. Sometimes I cut the conversation and many times the conversation wins.

A few hours pass by and I decide to take a break. I make some coffee and sit by the sofa in the common area. Before my mind drifts to the thoughts of my morning, the printer prints and vomits bundles of paper.

I get back to the meetings and we argue over our points of view before we can conclude or roll it over for another day. My stomach has already begun to churn the liquids and is demanding for food.

The food coupons make their way in exchange for our mid day meal. I stuff the food in and talk to my colleagues about robots, drones, movies, sport and anything under the stars.

Morning repeats post noon. However the heavy lunch leaves me with a sleep to battle. After a few hours, its time to grab my bag and run to my cab that takes me back home. Yes, you hear more vehicle sounds and a lot more snores. The balloon sellers are now selling car mats, wipes and shades.

I come home with almost no energy left for the sport I love. As I rest on the sofa with a small snack and a coffee, my mother is watching TV that’s showing all the woman villains in their drama. This runs for four hours every evening and she wouldn’t let me switch to news, sport or documentaries.

I take a brisk walk and hear the dogs bark from a road further down. Neighbour aunty stops me for a quick chat. I come home and pull out my dumb phone to browse, browse and browse more.

Its dinner time. I relish the delicious food and have a word with my dad who’s had a busy day too. The book in my hand is narrating stories and the sleep has begun to conquer me. My mother reminds about the next day’s wake up call before I retire to bed.

Another routine day is waiting to arrive. Until it does, let the silence pour in. Lights off.

 

One thought on “Voice of a routine!

Leave a Reply

