Life with Restarts

One week up since I gave yoga practice a good restart. I’m so glad I did it. For a month I kept talking about restarting fitness regime and got marido to place an order for yoga mats. However, I caught a bad flu around Christmas break and stayed in for almost 10 days with a blocked nose and hard coughs. Once I emerged out of the bed fit and well, I’ve kick started basic yoga-hybrid sessions for myself at home. I’m doing 30 minutes a day and 5 days a week to start with. In just over a week I sense my cells have begun to breathe better, well, at the least I want to believe so.

Another restart story. You know the feel of a device taking over your time. Its like you do exist in a garden, full of flowers and birds chirping around, but, all you get to see is a barren land with mud full of cracks. I’m not giving up on gadgets (phone & TV), but regularizing their usage. Been a month and half now and must say that it stays a priority until it gets into my DNA. Well, I don’t want to put my ‘kindle’ under my gadget list, because, he’s that friend who keeps me entertained, develops my curiosity and fills those blanks & spaces.

A note on books I’ve been reading:

Life with no break, by Nick Spalding. I’d just finished reading some serious books in the last month (To kill a mockingbird, Daring Greatly, We should all be Feminists). I was searching for a quirky and humorous book. I came across ‘Life, with no breaks’ which was written by the author in one sitting (30 hours). Nick is from southern England and he writes about himself in the first few pages. Such a striking coincidence and I was wondering if I’ve met this guy in the recent past. I was in Worthing (Southern England) a few days ago for my work and on my way back I met this cabbie who was driving me down to the train station. As I entered the cab I saw a paper stuck on his dashboard which read, ‘we could speak of many things other than just weather. I have interests in TV, science, books, movies, sports etc’. I found that as an honest and witty way to start short conversations with customers. I gave my appreciation for his innovative display and we engaged in a discussion on television shows and documentaries on discovery channel. I’m sure he isn’t Nick (or probably was he?), but somehow when I’m reading this book I’m able to put only that cabbie’s face as Nick. There isn’t anything new I’m learning from this book and more than a dozen times the author is just ranting, yet he feels like a friend.

Writing this post I remember my friend S. Many years ago we’d gotten into a discussion about the difference between how a man feels and how a woman feels while reading a book. He’d said, woman soak in a book and absorb stories and opinions in them like a sponge, while a man just reads them. I had disagreed and argued his perspective. Now, when I just take a look at my recent posts, I fairly agree I do soak and absorb.

Leave a Reply

