I am woman. I am of fire.

30 new years have rolled by for me and I can remember 31st nights for many years has been crisps, soda, television, countdown and wishing family. Then there were with friends, party, crazy countdown and wishing. There were also a few away, calm, cold, countdown and wishing. Last night we (me and marido) were chatting up our stories and smiled at our new year encounters. This year it wasn’t a customary countdown and I wasn’t raising a toast either. I felt comfortable watching an episode of Breaking Bad, dining early and hitting the bed only to wake up 4ish something when marido cheered me with his new year wish.

In the meanwhile, I have been reading too many blogpost recommending me to pick up books from female writers. I was looking up for “Bad Feminist” by Roxane Gay while I accidentally met with Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s “We should all be feminist”. It was a quick read, an hour or even less. Her narration is a clear shoutout to the world defining feminism as being human and being fair & just. I could relate to few of her stories and not to many of her narration. It’s just that we’ve walked different paths and have picked up our unique experiences. Here is one bit I loved the most, she goes on to say, “ I wrote an article about being young and female in Lagos. And an acquaintance told me that it was an angry article, and I should not have made it so angry. But I was unapologetic. Ofcourse it was angry. Gender as it functions today is a grave injustice. I am angry. We should all be angry. Anger has a long history of bringing about a positive change”. I’ve heard that many times too. I’ve been accused for being angry and rebellious when I’m shown indifference – be it my race or my gender. I care to embrace the differences and I remain unapologetic for who I am.

She continues “But I am also hopeful, because I believe deeply in the ability of human beings to remake themselves for the better”. I agree in each of those words. My strongest belief has been in evolution. The continued learning and changes hopefully will sprout out a remarkable recovery from this globe of  indifference.

I have a love/hate relationship for being a “Feminist”, just like how Shannon Bransley describes her love/hate relationship with a book based on the love/hate for women in it. I’ve swayed from hating one to being one.

I am of Fire, Shannon Bransley

I am the death bringer, the fires of destruction

I am the mother, the kindling of creation

I am the temptress for which you burn

I am the desire that scorches your heart

I am the lover, rekindling our flame

I am the Phoenix, blazing and untamed

I am the wildfire you tried to contain

I am the witch you burned at the stake

I am the widow thrown on the pyre

I am the wife made to tend the hearth

I am the ember that will not die

I am the spark waiting to be rekindled

I am the Phoenix to rise from the ashes

I am the Freja, fiery and in flames

I am Draupadi, Helen and Nana

I am Pele, Sati and Sita

I am the fire that burns within

I am woman

I am of fire.
Wish you all a wonderful new year.

Leave a Reply

